• Berkeley Way

    We've Moved

    Berkeley Way

    sendLearn More
  • Life…Theories…Results

  • Promoting healthy minds

  • Making a difference in the lives of others

  • Advancing the study of mind and brain

Department Highlights

Art Shimamura has released a free e-book on student learning

Art Shimamura has developed his popular book on healthy brains into a great new book aimed at younger audiences. The book can be downloaded for free here:



Congrats to Mahesh Srinivasan for being named a James S. McDonnell Scholar

We would like to share the good news that Mahesh Srinivasan is one of 10 researchers to have been named a James S. McDonnell Scholar through the foundation's...

Congrats to Christina Maslach for winning 2018-19 Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship Award

Edward A. Dickson served as a Regent of the University of California from 1913 to 1946, the longest tenure of any Regent. In 1955, Mr. Dickson presented the University with a gift endowment which enables...

Poor sleep triggers viral loneliness and social rejection

Poor sleep can literally kill your social life.


UC Berkeley researchers have found that sleep-deprived people feel lonelier and less inclined to engage with others, avoiding close contact in...

Alumni Stories

I graduated Cal in 2004 with degrees in Psychology and Cognitive Science.  I obtained my Masters in BioMedical Ethics from the University of Pennyslvania.  I currently live in the Philadelphia...

After graduating in 1975 with my Bachelor's in Psychology, I went on and received my Master's and PhD at PGSP (now Palo Alto University). and immediately went into private practice. I basically...

At the age of 41, I decided I would like to get a degree in psychology.  I went 3 years to a community college and transfered in to UC Berkeley at the age of 44.  I graduated in 2 years (2004)...


Wed, 09/26/2018
Speaker: Michael O’Donnell, Michael Rosenblum
Wed, 10/03/2018
Speaker: Professor Hany Farid
Wed, 10/03/2018
Speaker: Chris Hopwood
Wed, 10/10/2018
Speaker: Charlan Nemeth