Congratulations to Sheri Johnson, Rudy Mendoza-Denton, and Joni Wallis on their election as 2022 AAAS Fellows!

Sheri Johnson, Rudy Mendoza-Denton, and Joni Wallis

Eleven UC Berkeley faculty members have been elected lifetime fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.


The new members, among 508 total 2022 AAAS fellows, bring the number of UC Berkeley AAAS fellows — active and retired — to 226.


Sheri Johnson, professor of psychology, “for distinguished contributions to the field of psychological science, particularly for the study of bipolar disorder, including a leading model of the condition and emotion-based impulsivity.”


Rodolfo Mendoza-Denton, professor of psychology, “for outstanding contributions to the science on the causes and consequences of prejudice and the identification of factors that serve to enhance academic success for individuals with historically minoritized identities.”


Joni Wallis, professor of psychology, “for distinguished contributions to systems and translational neuroscience, using single cell and neural oscillations to delineate the physiological basis of decision making and reward processing in the prefrontal cortex.”


The AAAS was founded as a nonprofit in 1848 and includes more than 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals.


The new fellows will receive an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin via mail and will be invited to an in-person gathering in Washington, D.C., in the spring of 2023 to celebrate this honor.